About The Teacher of the Year Awards

May 02, 2013 No Comments by

This year’s Teacher of the Year Awards were presented at an honors ceremony  Monday, April 29 from 5-6:30 p.m. in Angelico Hall.
Teacher of the Year was awarded to  Dr. Maggie Louie of the Department of Natural Sciences and Mathematics and Adjunct Teacher of the Year went to Dr. Kenneth Frost also of Natural Sciences and Mathematics.

“Teacher of the Year” honors are a tradition going back at least 15 to 20 years. Adjunct faculty excellence recognition started five to six years ago.  This year’s teacher of the year nominees included Margaret Fink, Nursing; Alison Howard, Political Science; Lynne LoPresto, Natural Science and Mathematics; Maggie Louie, Natural Science and Mathematics; Gail Matthews, Psychology; Bill Phillips, Psychology; Leslie Ross, Art; Cynthia Taylor, Humanities; and Jackie Urbani, Special Education. Adjunct teacher of the year nominees are Ken Frost, Natural Science and Mathematics; Cheramie Leo (Johnson), English; Richard Simon, English; and Amy Young, Natural Science and Mathematics.

Faculty who have been recognized in the past five years are not eligible for this award. The selection committee for the awards consists of the past year’s winners and two student leaders. This year, student representatives were Eleno Nunez and Nora Nicholl-Lewandowski. Martha Nelson, associate vice president for Academic Affairs, chairs the committee and has a vote only as a tie breaker. The committee considers both the number and the strength of the nominations.

The winners of this award each received a framed certificate and a $1,000 cash award. Last year, the teacher of the year was Gigi Gokcek, Ph.D., Political Science/International Studies and the adjunct teacher of the year was Stuart Horne from the communications department. In 2011 the teacher of the year was Lynn Sondag, of the art department, and Mani Subramaniam (chemistry) was named adjunct teacher of the year.

Other previous honorees were Mojgan Behmand in 2010, Gay Lynch, Eugene Oswald and Mohammed El Majdoubi in 2009 and Henry Schriebman and Madalienne Peters in 2008.

Campus, News, Scene On Campus, theBuzzz

About the author

Simple Kenyan who loves serenity and diversity. Yema enjoys the company of smiling people and good cuisine. He also loves dancehall music. Yema subscribes to the premise "all actual life is encounter"
No Responses to “About The Teacher of the Year Awards”

Leave a Reply